The Fiji Islands are in the south-west Pacific Ocean, south of the equator and north of the tropic of Capricorn.  Fiji comprises an archipelago of more than 332 islands, of which 110 are permanently inhabited, and more than 500 islets. The two major islands, Viti Levu and Vanua Levu, account for 87% of the population of almost 850,000. The former contains Suva, the capital and largest city. Most of Fijians live on Viti Levu's coasts, either in Suva or in smaller urban centers. Viti Levu's interior is sparsely inhabited due to its terrain

Australia lies 3160 km to the southwest, and New Zealand 2120 to the south. Nearby Pacific islands include Tonga, 770 km to the east and Vanuatu 1,100kn to the west.